Marriage License Information
A marriage license can be issued by any Nebraska County Clerk.
In law, marriage is considered a civil contract, to which the consent of the parties capable of contracting is essential. (42-101)
In order to marry in
(1) either of the parents, if the parents are living together
(2) the parent having legal custody, if the parents are living apart from each other
(3) the surviving parent, if one is deceased
(4) the minorís guardian if both parents are deceased or if the guardian has legal and actual custody of the minor
A form of identification is required.† The applicant must swear on the application the place, date and year of their birth.† If it shall appear that either of the parties is legally incompetent to enter into such contract or that there is any impediment in the way, the county clerk shall refuse to grant a license. (42-107)
Some of the information required on the form includes:
(1) Full name or bride and groom, birthplace and date of birth.
(2) Fatherís name and birthplace.† Motherís full maiden name and birthplace.
(3) If there were previous marriages, we will need to know how those marriages ended and the date the marriage ended.
Effective September 13, 1997, the social security numbers of both the bride and groom are required on the application under Nebraska Statute 43-3340.† This requirement was enacted pursuant to federal law and is intended to aid child support enforcement efforts.† If a party does not have a social security number they will be required to sign a notarized statement stating that they do not have a social security number.
Licenses are good for one year from the date of
Marriage license fee is $15.00.
Certified copies of marriage license is $5.00.